top of page
  • camrynprovan

Week Five in NYC

This week was extra special as my family flew over to visit! I also got to catch up with Megan (the other scholarship winner this year) and spend time with members of the Garner family. It turned out to be my busiest week yet, filled with lots of activities and sightseeing.


28th of June (Friday)

  • I started the day by having lunch at TAO Uptown with the Garner Family, Megan, and a member of the St. Andrews Society of New York. We all enjoyed catching up over the Asian Fusion Cuisine.

  • Then after lunch, Megan and I headed to Times Square where I met up with my family and helped them get settled into their hotel.

  • I finished the evening with a stroll through Central Park and enjoyed an ice cream at sunset.


29th of June (Saturday)

  • I began the day with breakfast in Central Park with the Garner family, Megan, and my own family. It was lovely to see everyone getting to know each other!

  • Next, we headed to Central Park Zoo and enjoyed a quick visit to see the monkeys, seals, penguins, and snow leopards.

  • Then, we visited the Cooper Hewitt Museum and enjoyed wandering around all the beautiful modern artwork and the building itself - which previously belonged to the Carnegie family.

  • After this, we drove over to Queens to visit the New York Hall of Science before ending the night at the Queens Night Market, exploring all the different varieties of foods and cultures it had to offer.


30th of June (Sunday)

  • On Sunday, my family and I decided to take some time to explore more of NYC together, and I was able to introduce them to some of my favourite spots!

  • We walked from Times Square to the bottom of the Financial District, stopping off in Chinatown for some much-needed lunch.

  • Then we ended the day in Brooklyn Heights, where we sat with ice cream and watched the sunset over Manhattan.


1st of July (Monday)

  • I started the day by meeting my family at their hotel in Times Square and then heading for breakfast at a nearby spot called Junior's, enjoying some avocado on toast and much-needed coffee.

  • Then we took a stroll around some of the shops before I headed to the hotel to take my online afternoon class.

  • Once I finished class, we then headed out for dinner at Bubba Gump, ending the night with a stroll in Midtown.


2nd of July (Tuesday)

  • On Tuesday, I began the day by having breakfast at the hotel my family were staying at, before setting off to explore more of the area.

  • We visited spots such as the Harry Potter store, Macy's and Whole Foods, then settled at a sandwich shop for some much-needed lunch.

  • I then headed back home to complete some course work for the following day.


3rd of July (Wednesday)

  • I started the day by meeting my family in the Financial District, visiting the 9/11 museum, and grabbing some bagels for breakfast.

  • Then I headed back home to complete my online class of the day and take a few other calls.

  • Once I was finished, I met up with my family again in the evening, and we had dinner at Pink Taco.


4th of June (Thursday)

  • We started the day by having breakfast at Juniors again, where I enjoyed yoghurt and granola with a coffee.

  • After that, we headed to Central Park for a few hours and enjoyed the sunshine while watching my brother take advantage of the kids' parks.

  • We then went to the Financial District again, this time visiting the World Trade Center. The views were spectacular and one of the best things I've done in NYC so far!

  • After that, we returned to midtown, had dinner and watched the 4th of July fireworks


23 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


lyngold
Jul 08

What an amazing week 5! I'm extremely impressed with all you have fitted in, especially walking from Times Square to the Financial District!! It must have been lovely to have your family visit too! x

Like
bottom of page