top of page
  • camrynprovan

Week Seven in NYC

Updated: Jul 31

This past week, I enjoyed being a tourist once more, showing my family around the city and exploring new places. I also spent a lot of time working on coursework and advancing my skills in class.


July 12th (Friday)

  • We started the day by going to Battery Park in the financial district to catch the ferry to Staten Island. After arriving, we spent about an hour exploring the area before returning to Manhattan for lunch.

  • Later, we went to midtown for some soup and bagels and then ended the day by exploring the nearby area and visiting the New York Public Library.


13th of July (Saturday)

  • On Saturday, we started the day by heading over to Chinatown for a wander and grabbing some new snacks to try, eventually ending up in Little Italy for some pizza.

  • Then we got on the Subway home and began to get ready for the baseball in the evening.

  • Once we were ready, we took the subway to Grand Central Station and then again to Queens. The trip took around 45 minutes but provided lovely views of the surrounding areas.

  • Then we arrived at the Citi Field stadium to watch the Mets playing the Colorado Rockies. We enjoyed the game over hotdogs and pretzels, with the Mets winning 7-3.


14th of July (Sunday)

  • On Sunday, we started off the day in Brooklyn Heights grabbing lunch and walking over to the pier to enjoy the morning views.

  • After this, we made our way over to Times Square and visited a few spots my dad had once been to 20 years ago on his last trip to New York, such as his old hotel. It was fascinating to hear about how much places had changed since then.

  • Lastly, we ended the day with a trip to the One Vanderbilt at sunset. The building not only provided beautiful views of the city at night- but also interactive experiences such as glass floors and mirrored rooms.


15th of July (Monday)

  • Monday started with a stroll around Brooklyn Heights and a trip to Trader Joe's and Target.

  • After this, I headed over to 14th Street and had my graphic design class. During this lesson, we began to develop a design piece for an article.


16th of July (Tuesday)

  • On Tuesday, I spent most of the morning completing coursework for the week ahead.

  • Then I headed over to 14th Street in the afternoon for my class at Pratt. We spent the day developing our designs created the day before and merging them with platforms such as Illustrator and InDesign.

  • After class, I met up with my dad and we explored some of the thrift shops nearby and wandered around mid-town.

  • Then, to end the day, we headed back to Brooklyn Heights and had ice cream by the pier.


17th of July (Wednesday)

  • On Wednesday, we decided to get up early and head to the Guggenheim Museum near Central Park.

  • The building alone was beautiful and featured a grand spiral walkway inside, leading you to the top floor. The artwork showcased was stunning too, exploring many different forms and topics.

  • In the afternoon, I headed over to the Pratt Manhatten campus and further developed my work from the previous day.

  • Then I took the subway home to meet my dad and we walked over the Brooklyn Bridge together, finishing the night off with some dinner from a local restaurant.


18th of June (Thursday)

  • The day started early with a Zoom class for my Mess Work course, presenting my research findings over the week and gaining feedback.

  • Then my dad and I headed out one last time for some bagels and a walk before his departure.

  • After this, I said goodbye and headed to 14th Street for my class at Pratt. I spent this lesson finishing my assignment for that week and presenting the final piece.

  • Lastly, I headed home and began working on projects for the following week.




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page