top of page
  • camrynprovan

Week Nine in NYC

This past week marked my final full week in New York City, making it quite busy! Key moments included completing my Graphic Design course at Pratt, exploring local markets, and enjoying a trip to the beach. Although I will be sad to part with NYC, I am excited about my upcoming visit to Washington next week before returning to Scotland.


26th of July (Friday)

  • My day started with getting some work done to prepare for the upcoming weekend!

  • Later, I took the subway to 14th Street where I enjoyed coffee and cake, then explored the Washington Square Market. I was amazed by the variety of handmade items and fresh produce at the stalls!

  • In the afternoon, I headed to the financial district to visit the Strangers Project, a pop-up gallery showcasing messages and stories from people around the world!


27th of July (Saturday)

  • The weekend kicked off with completing some coursework for my class in the afternoon.

  • After a short break, I went out for coffee and strolled around Brooklyn.

  • By 3 pm, I had my session with Messwork and wrapped up my target market research for the project!

  • In the evening, I visited the West Village and went to an old independent cinema to watch ‘Janet Planet’. The cinema had a ticket booth outside and only two screens, which made the experience quite special.


28th of July (Sunday)

  • The weather was extra warm on Sunday, so I opted to escape the city and head to the beach!

  • I took the train over to Queens and spent a lovely afternoon at Rockaway Beach soaking up the sun.

  • Later, I wandered around the town and visited a local smoothie bar before returning home for the evening.


29th of July (Monday)

  • My Monday started by finalizing social media posts for my internship while enjoying the sunshine outside with a coffee.

  • During this time, I also managed to write some postcards and send them off to family back home!

  • After that, I went to my class at Pratt to start my final project, which involved redesigning a poster found in the city. I chose to work on a poster for a vinyl buyer.

  • Later, I stopped by Whole Foods to pick up some potato salad for dinner before heading back to Brooklyn.


30th of July (Tuesday)

  • The day started with a call with the internship director, where I presented my weekly work and we talked about the next steps for other projects!

  • After that, I went to my graphic design class to continue working on my poster and to gain more knowledge about Photoshop.

  • Later, I returned home for some soup and a bagel, followed by an evening stroll by the pier.


31st of July (Wednesday)

  • Wednesday began with a morning walk and coffee from my local cafe!

  • Then, I made my way to Manhattan for my Pratt class, where I finalised my poster and started gathering all my work into a portfolio.

  • Upon wrapping up at Pratt, I returned home to finish up some tasks for the next day.


1st of August (Thursday)

  • Thursday started early with a Messwork session, where we began finalising all our research and insights on brand identity.

  • Following this, I had a meeting with my internship to discuss upcoming projects for the next week and address some general administrative tasks.

  • Once both meetings had finished, I quickly grabbed some lunch before heading to my final graphic design class. Today's main focus was finishing up our portfolios and presenting them to the class. Overall, I feel this course has effectively helped to further my skills in software applications and understanding visual communication- I look forward to continuing this learning independently!

  • After a hectic day, I returned home and treated myself to an ice cream to celebrate and mark the end of a successful week!




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page